Waiting for Chicks

I‘m sitting here, on the edge of my seat awaiting a call and wondering how well our four new baby chicks are doing. They hatched Sunday, so at just two days old they’re tiny, needing a lot of heat (95 degrees) and will require food and water soon. Baby chicks can go about 2 days without food and water due to all the egg white nutrients they received before hatching. If they don’t arrive today, I’ll be on pins and needles. Daniel called the post office this morning to see if they were in their first Express Mail shipment, and they weren’t. They have a whole lot of peeping chicks in the back, but not ours… yet. The last Express Mail shipment comes in at 9:15am and I’m praying they’ll be in it.

Wait… just as I was typing this I got “The Call”! My little babies are waiting for me after all. I’ll be posting pics after they get settled. Can’t wait to see our little furry-legged Bantam baby. Big day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chickens, Family Happenings, Urban Farmsteading

Leave a comment